CPC Webinar: Making the Invisible Visible: Counting Children on the Streets in Malawi

Thursday, July 23, 2015 - 3:00am to 4:30am

Very little evidence exists about the numbers of children living and working on the streets globally, undermining efforts to ensure they receive adequate and appropriate care. In order to inform policy and practice in Malawi, Retrak, Chisomo Children’s Club and the Government of Malawi undertook an enumeration study of children on the streets in Lilongwe and Blantyre, using the capture/recapture methodology. On July 23, 2015, at 9am EDT, the CPC Learning Network is hosting a webinar featuring Joanna Wakia, Monitoring and Research Advisor at Retrak, and Charles Gwengwe, Executive Director at Chisomo Children’s Club, to explore the approach followed, to share the initial results and to discuss implications for interventions in Malawi and future research steps.

You can read the background paper on the methodology here.

 

 

Register now!

Thursday, July 23, 2015 
9.00 New York / 14.00 UK / 15.00 Malawi  and Geneva  
16.00 Kenya  / 18.30 Sri Lanka 

Imagine a world where we build on the core strengths of children, their families, and communities, to create dignity, belonging, and justice for all.

 

Contact Info

International Institute for Child Rights and Development (IICRD)

mailing address: 309 - 1694 Cedar Hill Cross Rd, Victoria, BC, V8P 2P7
office address for meetings (please confirm in advance): 5th floor - 1112 Fort Street, Victoria, BC, V8V 3K9
+1 (250) 891-2424
  info@iicrd.org
  www.iicrd.org

Email Us!